Pie Day 11 – Crack Pie – FAIL.

Yep. It finally happened. I totally completely failed at making this delicious looking (and smelling) pie.

think I did everything the way that I was supposed to, but obviously something went wrong because, well, the pie that was supposed to look like this:

Came out looking like this:

You might be thinking, “ok, that looks a little burnt on top, but maybe it’s just a nice brown crust and it still has a tasty inside. Maybe it’s not soooooo bad.”

You would be wrong.

This is me tipping my pie sideways:

See all that buttery, sugary goo on the right hand side? That just poured right out. And before you ask, yes, I tried cooking it longer. In fact, I cooked it 30 minutes longer than it said checking the middle for the right “wiggle” every 5-10 minutes. It was pure burnt liquid every time.

Want to see what happens when I tried “cutting”into it?

Yep. Just butter under there. WHERE DID ALL THE FLOUR AND EGGS AND SUGAR GO?? No one knows.

This is how my husband found it when he got home.

I had abandoned it.

If you are wondering if he tried it: yes, yes he did. He said the first bite wasn’t so bad but after that he just stared hating himself. I guess he must have been really hungry. Or maybe it was just hard not to try it because It Smelled So Damn Good. Or both.

I’ll be working towards figuring out what went wrong, hopefully tomorrow.

In the mean time, check out this yummy Chocolate Chess Pie and Coconut Cream Pie from Lauretta Jean’s Pie Bakery, which turns out to be a convenient 0.9 miles from my house! I brought a slice of their cherry pie home too, but I’m saving that for later.

 

The verdict: Their Chocolate Chess Pie was my son’s chosen pie and was amazing amazing amazing. unfortunately I only got to have a couple bites before he very sternly insisted that the chocolate was his pie then pointed to my Coconut Cream and told me “that one’s all yours.” Sigh.

The lady behind the counter suggested the Coconut Cream as her absolute favorite so that is what I ordered for myself. It was OK but didn’t have enough coconut in the cream for me. Honestly it tasted like whipped cream in a crust with shaved coconut on top. I didn’t finish it, so that says a lot. But it was an OK pie if you are in the mood for a slice of heavy whipping cream in a super flakey and delicious crust.

Apparently the Cherry is their number 1 best seller. I’m looking forward to warming it up and eating it with some ice cream tonight!

I’m also really looking forward to berry season! Which is just around the corner so I can finally start baking some berry pies of my own! Aaaah spring and summer  and delicious fruit pies; how I love you.

 

3 thoughts on “Pie Day 11 – Crack Pie – FAIL.

  1. Pingback: Crispy Oatmeal Cookies | Friday: Pie Day

  2. Pingback: Crack Pie – Re-try | Friday: Pie Day

Leave a Reply

