Perfect Peach Pie, A la Mode

I love peaches. They are probably one of my favorite fruits if only because they smell so luscious when I walk past them in the market.

This was my first peach pie ever. I’ve made peach crisp before and I love it. I make it at least once every peach season, so it was a little scary to diverge from that and make a pie. But I’m glad I did! This pie was delicious! And now I have TWO must-make recipes for every peach season! It doesn’t get better than that.

I used an all shortening curst for this pie because I wanted it to be light; I didn’t want the crust to be heavy and detract from the flavor of the peaches. I was very happy with this crust, although next time I would sprinkle raw sugar over the top.

As usual, prepare your crust first and put it in the fridge for 3 hours minimum.

Peach Pie Filling

5/6 cups of sliced peaches. About 10 medium sized peaches.

Juice of 1 lemon

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup corn starch

2 T butter

1/4 t salt

1 t cinnamon 

1/2 t nutmeg 

First peel all your peaches. It makes it REALLY easy to peal them if you blanch them. Boil water and drop your peaches in for 1 minute.

Remove from water and pull of the skin. It will peel right off leaving all the peach flesh behind.

Slice peaches into 1/4 inch slices. Mine did not want to pull off the pits and were a total pain in the butt to cut. Just do your best!

Pour peaches into a colander to get rid of extra juice and squeeze a lemon over them then toss lightly with your fingers. Doing this in a colander will drain some of the juice so that your pie won’t be soggy.

Mix the dry ingredients (1/2 c white 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/4 c flour 1/4 c cornstarch, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg)

Pour the peaches into a large bowl and pour the mixed dry ingredients over the top.

Toss together to evenly coat peaches.

Roll out your bottom crust and lay in pie pan.

Pour peaches into pie pan.

dollop your 2 T of butter over the fruit.

Roll out top crust and cut into long strips (if you are making a lattice top crust) or just lay over the top and cut vents.

TaDa! A pretty pie!

OH SHOOT! I forgot to dollop the butter on top!

So I smeared it into the open spots on my crust and everything was ok. Fewf.

Bake at 450 F for 10 minutes then reduce to 350 F for another 30-35 minutes. Pie filling should be bubbling and crust brown.

Let cool for about an hour while you hide somewhere outside so that you can’t smell it and don’t cut it too early. Good thing it’s so nice and warm out, this shouldn’t be too hard. You want to wait until it’s still warm but not too hot.

Serve with ice cream!

Eat outside in the sunshine with friends!

The perfect summer pie :)

One thought on “Perfect Peach Pie, A la Mode

Leave a Reply

