Pie Day 3: Fish Pie – Success!!!

So this week was savory pie week. And aallll week I searched for savory pie recipes that look delicious. And aaalll week I thought, “Nothing good today, but surely I’ll find a delicious savory pie recipe tomorrow.” As the days wore on my worry level increased.

Apparently there just aren’t that many savory pies.

Or at least not many savory pie recipes.

But one I kept coming across was “fish pie” which didn’t sound great to me but is apparently very common comfort food in Brittan. And it has mashed potatoes on the top… yum! So.. Fish Pie!

I couldn’t find one recipe that I thought looked just right so I kind of mixed and matched and came up with something I found to be absolutely amazing. I don’t know what fish pie is supposed to taste like, but I loved mine, so I’m calling it a Success 🙂

First of all I have to apologize. I forgot to take very many pictures of the process. Plus it was really dark outside while I was cooking and the yellow lights in my house were not very flattering to the fishy insides of this pie, so even the ones I did take are kind of gross looking. So… I’m not going to post those pictures. I’ll just post this one I took this morning because I feel it accurately reflects the deliciousness of this pie.

image

Guess what? This pie was super easy to make! So Even without pictures you can totally do it. And if you have any questions feel free to ask and I’ll make answer edits.

“Crust” 

Make Mashed Potatoes, heavy on the butter. I used three average sized potatoes, peeled, 6 tablespoons of butter, and a few splashes of milk until they were the consistency I like. This will go on top.

Filling

1 pound white fish (I used Cod)

1/2 pound smoked salmon

1 C milk

1 C fish broth (I used Veggie because that’s what I had on hand) 

1 Leek 

1 medium carrot 

2-3 T butter 

1/4 c flour

1 bay leaf

1 T fresh Parsley 

1-2 handfuls shredded sharp cheddar 

Cut fish into large chunks (some say bite sized, I did that but kind of wished they were bigger because they fall apart in the pie, particularly the smoked salmon)

Bring 1 cup milk and 1 cup fish broth to a simmer and add fish chunks and bay leaf – let simmer 5-10 minutes until fish is just cooked through then remove fish and set aside. Save milk/broth in pan

Chop leek and carrot into small pieces (1/2 inch or so)

In a separate large sauce pan melt butter over medium heat. Add leek and carrot and cook until soft (5-10 minutes)

Add flour to veggies and stir for 1-2 minutes

Add milk/broth to the veggie mix and stir for about 5 minutes, letting it thicken.

Remove from heat and mix in fish chunks and chopped fresh parsley. Salt and pepper to taste.

Preheat oven to 350 F

Pour filling into a deep pie pan. Smooth mashed potatoes over the filling, sprinkle libraly with cheese.

Put in the oven for 25-35 minutes

Serve hot, Eat, and Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

