Pie Day 5 – Oxtail Pie (Also known as Slimy Shallot Pie) – Success??

I don’t know.

I think this pie tasted how it was supposed to taste, I just don’t think it was my cup of tea. The meat was good, but it was a measly amount of meat, maybe half what I would have liked. Particularly because the only ingredients in the filling of the pie besides meat were shallots and peppers. But mostly shallots.

Don’t get me wrong, I love shallots. But a spoonful of slimy shallot gew with hints of oxtail isn’t what I was hoping for from this pie. If I was to make it again I would add more… something. Starch probably. Potatoes in the pie or rice on the side – something to cut through the slime.

On the plus side: I made something with Oxtail! It’s always fun brining  a new ingredient into my life. I’m now totally comfortable with oxtail. Bring on the oxtail.

And my crust was delicious.

Here’s the pics and the recipe in case you want to give it a go. If you do, please let me know how it turns out for you and what changes (if any) you made!

This is a slice from Saturday morning, that’s why it’s hard and not a sloppy mess.

Pie in a pan with folded over crust 🙂  At leaste it looks nice! That counts for something, right??

Directions:

Always make a pie crust first or have one in the fridge ready. I made a 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening crust and it was perfect. You can make one crust and let the edges fold over or make two and have a top crust, it’s up to you.

Braise the meat and make a broth with these ingredients:

Ingredients for braising/stock:

6 T olive oil split

6 oxtails (I would use 8-10 if I did this again)

5 carrots

4 celery stalks

2 onions (that is what the recipe called for, I used one large one and it was fine)

4 cloves garlic smashed

~3 C red wine

~3 C chicken stock or other stock

Medium chop all veggies

Heat 3 T oil until is shines in a dutch oven on medium-high heat

Brown the oxtails. Add your oxtail 3 at a time, leaving plenty of room around them (about 2 inches around each) you may need to brown in batches.

Once you have browned both sides of all your oxtail, set aside.  If there is anything burnt in the pan, wash before moving on to the next step.

Heat remaining oil and add onions and garlic, cook until fragrant then add the rest of the veggies. Cook until they begin to soften.

Add the oxtail and fill with liquids until it just reaches the top of the meat.

Bring to a boil and then simmer with lid on for 4-5 hours until the meat is falling off the bone.

This is not the prettiest picture but see how the meat is literally falling off the bone? That’s how you want it.

Next strain all the veggies out of your broth, you will be using 2 cups of the broth in your pie filling.

Pie Filling:

 Filling Ingredients 

3 T olive oil

6 shallots (used 5 because they were big)

4 cloves garlic

8 sweet and hot peppers (I used 8-10 because they were small)

2 T butter

5 T flour

2 C stock

Oxtail meat (with 6 oxtails I ended up with about 1 cup of meat)

Separate all the oxtail meat from the bone/fat (I suggest using your fingers, there isn’t much meat and it’s hard to find with a fork)

Cut your garlic into thin slivers

Medium chop all your veggies removing seeds from peppers.

Heat your olive oil to med in a heavy pan (I washed and re-used the same pan)

Mix in shallots and garlic and heat until soft. Add peppers and heat about 10 minutes.

Add 2 T butter and let melt.

Mix in flour.

Mix in 2 cups of stock and meat. Stir and let thicken.

Heat oven to 425 F

For a single crust pie: roll one pie crust and lay in a cast iron skillet. Do not cut edges. Pour filling into crust and lay the edges over the filling.

Spread a wash over the crust (optional: I forgot)

Cook for about 30 minutes until crust is browned.

Let cool slightly and serve. I suggest serving it with something like rice or mashed potatoes – maybe even a mashed potato top! If you use extra meat and reduce the shallots this might not be necessary. Or if you just like slimy onion pie, then serve as is.

Enjoy!?

Leave a Reply

