Pie Day 8 – Cabbage and Sausage Pie – Success!!

Cabbage and Sausage pie: Success!

This pie is a fun and delicious meal.

I was served a cabbage pie almost 10 years ago and when it was brought out I remember thinking something like: Eeeew! Cabbage pie?? And then trying it and dreaming about it in fond confusion for 10 years until I made this similar one yesterday.

It is a hearty pie full of sausage, cheese, hardboiled eggs and cabbage and wrapped in a butter crust… yet somehow it feels almost light when it hits your belly. The smell of it will make your mouth water while it is baking, it tastes heavenly when you eat it, it will confuse your friends and family when you serve it, it is a fun pie.

And the prep is fairly quick and easy.

I pieced the recipe together from a number of different recipes that I found on-line, some that had sausage, some that didn’t, some that had egg and some that didn’t. I basically put in all the stuff that sounded good to me, and it worked out.

Crust

First, as always, make a double crust recipe and put it in the fridge for 3 hours minimum. I made a full butter crust this time because I like a substantial crust with my savory pie, but you can do whatever you like.

The Filling

First boil at least 4 eggs and set aside to cool. (they don’t have to be completely cold, just manageable. Eggs are hard to slice when really hot)

I made four because I only had four. I would probably double it next time, maybe even triple it.

Ingredients:

1 pound sweet italian sausage (the good kind that you can take out of the casing)

1 head green cabbage

1 bunch of fresh dill (about 1/4 -1/2 c)

1 yellow onion

4 oz cream cheese OR 6 oz of feta cheese (or both, be crazy!)

4-6 T olive oil or butter

Salt

Pepper

instructions:

Heat oven to 375 F (you don’t have to do this right away, I just wanted to put this somewhere that it would be easy to find. I would turn it on while you cook the cabbage)

Remove the sausage from the casing, breaking into pieces, and cook on medium heat until well browned.

I chopped it up much more than this as it cooked – to about the size that you would find if you ordered sausage on your pizza.

Once cooked through remove from pan and set aside.

Cut up the cabbage into coleslaw size pieces. I have always done a horrible job cutting up cabbage, so I looked up the best way to do it. If you are already great at chopping cabbage than you can scroll on past this little cabbage cutting tutorial.

Holding the cabbage stem side down, cut in half. Then cut each half in half again so you have 4 pieces with the stem split in 4 ways.

Cut the stem out of each wedge at an angle.

Lay the wedge down on the flat spot you made when you cut out the stem and cut thin slices from the bottom to the pointy top of the wedge.

Once you have cut the whole wedge, cut those little slices down the middle so they aren’t quite so long.

Do that to all of your cabbage.

Next cut up your onion into small pieces.

Then chop up your dill. It doesn’t have to be tiny, just chopped.

Mix all these ingredients together.

Next you’re going to wilt/cook the cabbage mix.

In a large fry pan (I used the same one I cooked the sausage in) put 2-3 T olive oil (or butter). If you can put all your cabbage mix in the pan, go for it (and double your olive oil/butter), I had to do two batches. Salt slightly during wilting.

Once all the cabbage mix has been softened and lightly browned mix it with the sausage and add a healthy sprinkle of black pepper. If you decide to use feta (I didn’t, but only because I forgot, I will next time) then crumble it and mix it in now.

As you can see in the picture below, I didn’t kill the cabbage, it was soft but not completely mangled.

Roll out your bottom pie crust and lay it in a 2 inch deep pie pan.

If you decide to use the creme cheese then mix it up so it spreads easily and spread it in the bottom of your pie crust. I thought I had enough regular cream cheese but it turns out I didn’t and needed to use chive and onion. It was fine but I think it would have been better with regular.

Slice the eggs. I used one of those fun egg slicer made specifically for slicing eggs.

Layer them over the cream cheese.

I only had enough for one layer, I would have prefered 3 or three layers.

Pile on your sausage and cabbage mix.

Lay top crust over the filling.

If you want to you can brush the top crust with an egg wash (egg white with a little water mixed in) this will make the crust look really pretty.

Cut some wholes in the top crust.

Place the pie on a baking sheet (to catch any drips) on the middle rack.

Bake for 45 minutes at 375 F

Remove and let cook slightly (10-15 minutes)

Cut (it’s ok if it’s a little juicy), Serve, Eat, Share, Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

