Pie Day 9 – Pay De Lima (Lime Pie)

I Love Lime Pie.

This isn’t a new pie for me, this is a long time family favorite.

I got this lime pie recipe out of a cookbook for the restaurant Dona Tomas in Oakland, CA. If you are ever in Oakland or Berkeley or even SF and wanting to take a trip across the Bay then I would highly recommend you try this amazing restaurant. I love it so much that I bought the cookbook and everything I have tried from it has been amazing, including this lime pie.

Also, they serve the best margarita’s in the Bay Area.

This pie differs from Key Lime Pie in that it does not have any sweetened condensed milk, in fact, it has no milk of any kind. It is creamy and smooth and tart, tart, tart. I haven’t met a person yet who hasn’t absolutely loved it.

I make the recipe exactly as it says to in the book and it has never once, not one single time, come even close to acting/looking the way they say it’s supposed to.

See those skinny opaque slices of pie? Yeah, mine never looks like that. Mine looks more like a Key Lime pie, I don’t know why. Either way, it’s delicious.

I’ll tell you what it says, and I’ll tell you how it has turned out for me and you can just go try it out and see how it goes for you.

So here we go:

Graham Cracker Crust: 

12 Graham Crackers, pulverized

6 T melted butter

3 T sugar

pinch salt (I over slated mine this time but it was still good)

Mix together, press into a deep pie pan, put in fridge to cool.

Delicious Lime Filling:

Zest 3 limes – about 1 t or more if desired (I put in about 1 T because I like the zest)

Squeeze 3/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 8 limes, depending on the juiciness)

Fill a large sauce pan 3/4 of the way with water and boil – you are going to use this to double-boil your filling.

Chop 1 stick of room temp butter into 1/4 inch pieces and set aside.

In a large metal bowl combine:

1 1/2 cup sugar

4 eggs

Lime zest

3/4 cup lime juice

Using a hand mixer, mix the ingredients slightly.

Put the metal bowl over the boiling water and continue to mix for 15 minutes (Time it! If you are unsure of your consistency just whisk for 15 minutes and you’re probably good to go)

The book says to mix it for 15 minutes or until it “doubles in size, turns frothy and opaque, and forms ribbonlike folds off the end of the whisk”. It does double in size for me, but it has never done any of the other things. Mine is always thick and creamy looking and about the consistency of a hot pudding that hasn’t set. It doesn’t stand on end but it is thick.

See, not even kind of opaque – more like a less sticky marshmellow cream with lime zest.

Gradually mix in the butter bits until completely melted, I did about 1/6 of the butter at a time and it melts quick. Incorporate completely.

Pour into the pie crust and let cool. The book says to let cool for at least 6 hours, I’ve always found mine is ready to eat after 3. If you can wait the full 6 hours, good for you! It’s totally not necessary though.

If you like a tart creamy textured pie, this is the pie for you! I have never met a person who didn’t love this pie, and if I did, I probably wouldn’t like them.

Just kidding.

Sort of.

Leave a Reply

