Coconut Cookie Crust – Gluten Free and Delicious + DIY Coconut Flour!

image

Let my start by saying that this crust is incredibly aromatic, incredibly tasty, and incredibly crumbly. It didn’t hold together well. So, if you have any suggestions I’m open to them. But here’s the thing, it was so delicious and such a great glutton free option that I’m posting it anyway. And when I figure out how to get it to hold together I’ll let you know.

I made this crust for my Caramelized Banana Cream Pie and the combination of coconut crust and Banana Cream was to die for. I highly recommend it!

When I started to make this crust I made the wrong assumption that I could simply food-proccess flaked coconut and turn it into coconut flour, the same way you can with Almond. That is not the case. It is quite a process to turn flaked coconut into flour… and one that leaves you with coconut milk too! So, I’m going to show you how to make coconut flour from the much more available and cheaper flaked coconut and let you decide if you want to take the time to do it or just buy flour.

If you just buy the coconut flour you can skip to the cookie recipe. Otherwise…

Start by boiling water. For coconut water boil 4 cups of water to 1 cup of coconut, for a thicker coconut milk, use less water depending on how thick you want it. I did a little over 1:1 – about 3 cups of flaked coconut and 4 cups of boiling water because I wanted a thick milk.

Pour you flaked (unsweetened!) coconut in your blender. Add your boiling water.

image

Hold the lid on the top when you start the blending (mine blew off!) and then blend until super creamy – about 10 -12 minutes.

image

Put a cheese cloth in a bowl and pour your creamy coconut into the cloth. Squeeze out as much of the milk as you can into the bowl twisting your cloth and squeezing the coconut ball. It will be very hot, you can stick it in the freezer for a few minutes now and then to help make it squeezable.

image

Once you have squeezed out as much milk as humanly possible open your cloth and feel your coconut. It should feel quite dry.

image

Yummy! Look at all that great coconut milk! Save that and use it in coffee or add yummy fall spices to it for a delicious drink.

Pre-heat your oven to 175. Spread your coconut as thin as possible on parchment paper on baking sheets.

image

Bake until you touch the coconut and it is completely dry. My coconut was quite thick on my pans so it took 2 1/2 hours of baking to dry out completely! I would check after 45 minutes and then again after 15 minutes and add time accordingly. It will start to dry at the edges of the pan first.

image

Take your dried coconut and blend in the food processor until it is a fine flour. I think I could have processed mine more, I think my slightly too course flour may have contributed to the fall-apartness of my end product crust.

image

Ta- Da! Coconut flour!

Coconut Cookie Crust

1 1/2 cups coconut flour

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup soft butter

1 egg

image

Mix butter and honey in a large bowl with a hand mixer.

image

Add egg and mix

image

Add flour and mix. (I forgot to take pictures of these steps – sorry!) My dough was very sticky and buttery.

Flatten out to about 1/4 inch thickness on parchment paper on a cookie sheet.

Bake at 350 degrees F for approx 20 minutes until edges are browned and it is cooked to the middle.

image

Crumble cookie (mine totally fell apart just touching it)

image

Add 1 T melted butter and 3 T Sugar, mix, and press into pie pan.

image

Bake at 350 F for 6-10 minutes. When it smells done it probably is. Take out of the oven when toasty brown and let cool. Fill with your favorite filling! Enjoy!

image

 

One thought on “Coconut Cookie Crust – Gluten Free and Delicious + DIY Coconut Flour!

  1. Pingback: Caramelized Banana Cream Pie – Yumtastic | Friday: Pie Day

Leave a Reply

