Blackberry Pie

Blackberry Pie!

Have I mentioned that I love berry season?

I love berry season. And I love that I live in a place where berries literally grow like weeds on the side of the road. My family and I went to the river this weekend to swim and play and ended up filling my son’s beach bucket with these beautiful black berries just because we could.

We got a few scratches here and there (blackberry vines are vicious) but it was totally worth it.

image

I was really amazed with how well the berries held their shape. This did not turn into blackberry jam pie, this was for reals Blackberry pie.

image

It was kind of amazing.

image

Maybe a little too juicy (There is probably a full bottle of blackberry syrup swimming in this pie crust, and yes, I am going to pour it out and save it because: blackberry syrup.)

image

Make your double pie crust early in the morning or the day before and keep in the fridge to pull out when needed.

Find a blackberry bush or a blackberry farm and pick about 3 cups of blackberries. (Or spend your life savings buying 12 blackberries for $5 in those tiny plastic clam shells from the grocery store)

image

Ingredients:

3 cups blackberries

zest of 2 lemon

2 T lemon juice

1/2 cup sugar (3/4 cup if your berries lean towards bitter)

3 T cornstarch

Pinch of salt

image

Mix all your dry ingredients (sugar, cornstarch, salt, lemon zest)

image

All mixed up

image

Squeeze your lemon juice (Fresh is always best!)

image

Add the 2 T lemon juice to your dry ingredients

image

Mix it up

image

Drizzle over your (rinsed) berries

image

Toss gently to coat the berries

image

Roll out you pre-made crust (I always make mine the day before and keep it in the fridge)

image

This will give your berries some time to sit in the lemon/flour/sugar mix. They will lose some juice. I kept that juice in the pie, but if I was to do it again I would drain this off. The berries have plenty of flavor, you aren’t losing anything by draining this juice. You can always boil it and make a nice thick syrup for pouring over ice cream!

See that thick dark juice?? ->>

image

Pour your berries into your crust. (I used a pie bird so that the bottom crust would cook well)

image

I chose a simple lattice top crust (good with a juicy pie).

image

Bake on the lowest shelf for 30 – 40 minutes until juices bubble.

image

Let cool 3 or more hours to set. (Mine was still way over-juicy but very good)

Serve with Ice cream 🙂

image

Isn’t it beautiful? It’s really a show stopping pie visually.

image

image

I scooped some of the juice out of the pie and poured it over my ice cream. Yumtastic.

image

image

Double scoop

image

 

Leave a Reply

